Call For Free Consultation (619) 494-3345
Location: 591 Camino De La Reina, Suite 700, San Diego, CA 92108 | Testimonials

YELP REVIEWS

Kesha P.

Chula Vista,CA

2 friends

5 review

1/28/2013

I’m always skeptical about anyone “brave” enough to slander someone, but too much of a coward to share their identity. The accused has a right to know their accuser. The poster of these lonely comments has appeared on NUMEROUS websites on the internet. When selecting an attorney, one should never rely solely on the experience of one person. Mr. Bishops ABA standing and credentials stand for themselves. If he was as horrible as these comments described, he’d be disbarred! I’m a former client of his with a very lengthy and stressful custody case. Steve has represented me about 3 times on the same case, separate motions ,which included a move away order I WON! Many ppl become disgruntled when they lose of course but what I know PERSONALLY about Steve is that he lays either a favorable or unfavorable blueprint of your case before your eyes BEFORE he is retained. Most people who are unsuccessful with Steve’s help, are those who have not followed his advice and/or who were not forthcoming to begin with. Steve is a very competent, knowledgeable, confident, and well respected attorney…HOWEVER, he caanot work miracles. Give him the truth, cooperation and confidence, and he’ll hand you a disposition in your favor! 😉 SIGNED A BRAVE CLIENT: KESHA PRESSLEY!

Stephen B.

Coronado, CA

0friends

2 review

8/21/2015

I used Steve Bishop for my second Divorce. HE IS THE BEST BAR NONE. The marriage was for 26 years and although we had been separated for 6 months it got very ugly very fast. I went to Steve as I wanted a fair settlement. Steve was good about setting expectations and backing it up with facts. Unfortunately there was little room for agreement or any sort of meeting in the middle. As I wavered and just wanted it over and to move on Steve was quick to assure me that what I was thinking would not solve anything and in fact get me in deeper. In an emotionally charged event like this was I was making very emotional decisions based on emotions. In the end Steve was correct 100% of the time. Now 5 years later and looking back the settlement was very fair for both of us and I am able to move on. More than anything I learned to Trust Steve Bishop. He was fair on both sides and made me look fair. That is good. And best of all he is obsessive compulsive about retuning calls and emails. That kept me very calm. He gets an A+ from me

Corrinne C.

San Diego, CA

0friends

2 review

8/17/2016

Words cannot truly explain what I want everyone who reads this to know about Mr.Bishop, Connie and the rest of the office staff.

In Gods word He says Fight The Good Fight…. And in my opinion that is EXACTLY what Mr.Steven Bishop is all about.

I am blessed to have had Mr.Bishop on my side!!

Thank You, Thank You for all you have done for myself and my daughters, I will continue as always to count my blessings and you guys are one of them!

With much love and great fullness your client,

Corrinne

Bob F.

Cardiff, CA

9friends

15 review

6/3/2016

Mr. Bishop was absolutely phenomenal! He communicated everything I needed to know thoroughly and effectively and always kept me well-informed. He fought hard for me but was always personable, friendly and professional.

My case was handled quickly and Mr. Bishop delivered everything he promised without tons of unnecessary drama. I’m so happy I went with him. Couldn’t recommend him highly enough if you are looking for an attorney who will communicate about your case clearly, set reasonable expectations and deliver as promised!

You will not regret it!

Dennis G F.

Kingsburg,CA

0 friends

1 review

7/22/2015

I am from the Fresno area and needed a lawyer in San Diego. I needed to retire from my job , but was still paying alimony to my ex wife. He was able to negotiate a settlement in court between my ex and myself without me having to go to S.D. From my personal experience with Mr. Bishop, I would highly recommend him. When it was over, I made a special trip to San Diego to thank Mr. Bishop and his staff.

Tanya R.

Chula Vista, CA

23 friends

4 review

7/30/2015

I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincerest thanks and gratitude to Mr. Bishop for all that he has done to help me and my son.
As everyone knows, divorce is not an easy undertaking for anyone – but when you discover mid-way through the ordeal that your child has medical/behavioral issues that have not been previously addressed in the divorce/child custody process -things become measurably more complicated.
While coping with an autistic child in itself is a challenge, doing so while going through divorce/child custody proceedings and trying to make sure that everything the child needs – over and above the “normal” – is covered and accounted for is beyond stressful and overwhelming.
I feel that having the right lawyer on my side made things easier for both me and my son. Mr Bishop helped me to explain things to my child’s father that he could understand – which helped to decrease conflicts that could have arisen. Because Mr. Bishop was so understanding and flexible with scheduling meetings with me, as well as always being on top of things and so attentive to details, I was able to spend my time being proactive for my son’s needs in finding him a great school to attend, making all of his doctor’s appointments, and taking him to all necessary therapy sessions rather than having to attend stressful court hearings.
Thanks to Mr. Bishop, I am now a happily divorced mother of a wonderfully happy son who plays soccer, baseball and goes paddle boarding!

Thank you Mr. Bishop for sticking up for me and my son and helping us enjoy our lives!

Mike Z.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

2 review

7/11/2015

Steve is awesome. He secured an incredibly favorable outcome for us, but beyond that he was just incredible to have on our side through a tough and sometimes very rough process. Steven is super competent, has great instincts and his experience allows him to not be surprised by anything that happens in Court. We had an unfavorable judge who seemed intent on ruling against us, but Steve was relentless and got an outcome that was more than we had hoped for. Thank you Steve not only for your skills but for your passion and compassion with people.

Matt T.

Chula Vista, CA

0 friends

1 review

7/11/2015

I first met Steve Bishop in 1997 when I was in need of a guardianship Attorney. He made the process easy and stress free. Steve explained every aspect of the case as we went along. He made sure there were no surprises. Both he and his staff are wonderful.

I was so impressed with Mr. Bishop that I hired him to represent me during my Divorce in 2000. As many of you know, divorces can be an emotional rollercoaster and mine was just that. Steve was there to assist me, direct me and even scold me when I was out of line. I needed an attorney who was willing to tell me when I was letting emotions control my better judgement.

Years went by when I was again in need of an attorney. In 2010, Steve handled an adoption case for me. Again, Steve did everything to keep me informed of all actions before they occurred.

And currently, I have Mr. Bishop preparing a Trust for my Mother. I wouldn’t allow anybody else to handle her affairs.

I have recommended Steve Bishop to friends, family members and colleagues without any hesitations.

When I need an Attorney, I already know who I will be calling.

Judy K.

Santee, CA

0 friends

1 review

7/9/2015

I choose Steven Bishop because he represented and helped someone that I know. When I went to him he explained everything that was going to happen. He gave me information that I needed to help me to prepared for a successful outcome. He and his team were available to me anytime that I needed them. I thank them for being with me doing a difficult time me my life.

Mike H.

Oceanside, CA

0 friends

2 review

11/4/2014

Steve is an awesome attorney! To have spontaneously walked to the podium and bring to light those important issues and represent me as you did, was artwork. Professionalism at it’s best, thank you.

Jeff K.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

1 review

7/31/2014

Been using Steve for years through ongoing custody problems. He’s become not only my attorney but a friend. He’s fought the good fight and given me advice to keep to the higher road throughout the years. He is ethical, strategic and realistic in what’s possible. I would highly recommend Steve and have referred two friends already.

Heather R.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

1 review

10/28/2013

Steve was fair, honest and helped us get through a very difficult, emotional settlement for an ongoing child custody fight. Let’s face it, we are talking about Family Court – they don’t have enough resources to ever know what’s really going on and they’re still a little biased toward one parent over the other for reasons we will never understand. Steve fought the good fight and got us more than we probably would have had without him. He kept our expectations real, he was mindful of our time, and in the end, I would trust no one else with our future cases.

Heather K.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

2 review

10/1/2013

Steve has been a TRUSTED PARTNER and is regarded as a friend throughout my husband’s very brutal child custody dispute with his ex wife. It continues to drag on as the variables of life change and Steve is who we turn to everytime we have to get help to get through the next challenge. He is so good that my husband and I joke about who gets him if we should ever have our own marital trouble. He’s not only handled all of my husband’s child custody issues, but also now has become a partner for our estate planning as well. He is our trusted partner in managing family legal needs. Steve has always given my husband and I both exceptional courtesy and respect. I trust him without question.

Steve is extremely respectful, honest, and cut throat when he needs to be to bring things to a conclusion. He knows how the system works. He will help you. He will give you options and will help you cut through the noise of emotional and irrelevant information the judges don’t care about in order to get you to focus on the core information you need to make a decision. He won’t decide for you. He will compassionately, but also firmly make you decide or he will wait patiently until you do. He won’t force his timeline on you or rush you. He will be prompt to return your phone calls, He is fair in his billing, realistic about expectations, honest and direct when surprise rulings happen (and they do) and consistent in his follow through. He is real, honest, and very, very, competent.

I will tell you, child custody is easily likened to a bloody war with many casualties. Steve told us from the beginning: family court is never going to feel fair and the only winners are the attorneys. This isn’t because Steve is charging excessive amounts of money, but it’s because no one gets everything they want in divorce or child shariing and you have to pay for that outcome, whether you like it or not. If you hate the other side, anything they get is going to feel like a loss to you. The costs are high, the judge and often the other attorney can create additional costs by making unexpected demands that are unforeseen. It is going to be an emotional, expensive, life altering experience with any attorney you pick…so pick a good one. I believe Steve is among the best.

We stick with Steve while the ex changes every year. With Steve, at the end of three different legal confrontations with my husband’s ex, I have always believed that we ended up better off, even if we didn’t get everything we hoped for. Steve has become very good at helping us decide when we want to take a chance on legal costs and when it might be better to figure out a solution outside of court. It’s now been almost six years and through every tear, hope, and question, I continue to fully trust and rely on Steve to get us through this battle. He is direct and efficient with his time, but empathetic for a moment when frustration overwhelms you, male or female. These are qualities I think are most important when seeking out a family attorney.

Janess A.

Van Nuys, CA

0 friends

6 review

5/17/2012

Couldn’t ask for more. Mr. Bishop did exactly what he said he would do and it was handled in a timely manner.

Augustine A.

Upland, CA

0 friends

4 review

4/23/2012

Anyone looking for a trustworthy, intelligent, honest, and friendly attorney practicing Family Law in San Diego CA!!!

Angle B.

Dallas, TX

0 friends

5 review

4/13/2012

The best lawyer ever. I will always be grateful to Atty Bishop for all his legal expertise in helping me with my divorce and child support issues. Also in preparing my will and other legal services. I found him to always be compassionate and helpful with all my legal needs. I would highly recommend his services.

Jonell A.

Lawndale, CA

0 friends

8 review

3/28/2012

Thank you for all that you have done and are doing and will do. My confidence level in Steven Bishop exceeds 105%

Strout Y.

Cerritos, CA

0 friends

8 review

5/1/2012

Mr. Bishop is a very knowledgeable attorney. He goes to mediation very prepared. He knows how to get the job done. I would not hesitate to refer him to others. Hoping I will not need his services personally again is he specializes in divorce. He was willing to work with me and help me understand the process.

Divorce is not easy and he made the process a good experience for me.

Shara R.

Van Nuys, CA

0 friends

4 review

3/19/2012

Great legal representation! Very impressive, knowledgeable and aggressive! Returns calls and explains things to a point where anyone can understand. Top notch help, and I would not take my sensitive legal issues to anyone but him.

Ardoin K.

Los Angeles, CA

0 friends

3 review

2/14/2012

I look back and there is not one point that I am thinking “we should not have objected to that”.

Very helpful leader and kept me on track.

Shana D.

Ankeny, IA

0 friends

1 review

9/23/2009

Steven M. Bishop represented me through a four-year divorce case involving custody of my children and a move-away request. He is an extremely knowledgeable attorney who, when asked, has offered his personal advice assisting me through the most difficult time in my life. Steve conducted himself in a professional manner in and out of the courtroom. His experience with and familiarity of family law and other attorneys’ strategy methods exceeded my expectations. I was grateful for Steve’s sense of humor and willingness to explain the reality of the situation even during a time when my emotional state was at its peak. I was so pleased with his services that, over the years, I have referred two of my friends to him for representation in their divorce cases and would recommend him to anyone in need of a divorce attorney.

M. R.

Poway, CA

0 friends

1 review

9/13/2009

I had retained Steve over three years ago for my divorce which had several complicated issues to resolve. I knew I would be completely lost trying to do this on my own, and most likely lose what I was actually entitled to. I was very emotional, confused and nervous about what lay ahead, and Steve patiently and carefully laid out the facts, case history, and the judges discretion in each case. In addition, he explained the general timeline that the process would take, given the fact that the opposing counsel can try to drag things out if they feel they are going to be on the losing side. If there was an area I could be given assurance things would go to my benefit, it was given. But, if there was a possibility that it might not go in my favor, he always stated what the options were and what direction he would recommend to get the best results. When all was said and done with my trial, I ended up getting almost exactly what he predicted I would get. Not only that, but his estimation of the judges response was right on the money. I truly trust him to lay out the facts without sugar-coating or giving me false hope. He knows how to see a problem ahead and is well prepared to take it on as best as can be. He is always prompt, professional, and courteous as well as genuinely caring about the emotional toil the process was putting me through. I couldn’t ask for more than that!

melissa a.

Chula Vista, CA

0 friends

3 review

8/25/2009

I’ve been with steve for a while due to the complexity of my case. I can tell you, if I had hired him from the beginning my case would have not dragged out as long as it has. Steve is very professional and very intellegent knows his stuff! I would refere him to anyone who is looking for a GREAT attorney who realy fights for his clients. (meet with him yourself and make your own judgement) you wont be disappointed! and not to mention his great staff!
Mel

gwen j.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

4 review

8/22/2009

I am so lucky I found Steve Bishop for my divorce attorney. I have already referred him to two of my friends. I trust him, and for an attorney, he’s as honest as they get. I have complete faith in Steve Bishop. Having Steve respresent me, made the whole process a little bit better, not to mention, he can be quite funny and make me laugh my head off. Thank you Steve for helping me get what was my fair share. I love Steve, and his wonderful helpers, Jodi, Connie, and Terry, you guys are the best! Your number one fan, Gwen

J B.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

4 review

8/17/2009

I was referred to Mr. Bishop 9 years ago from a friend of mine. The fact that I needed his help only shows that it was a difficult period in my life, as well as any one who is going through a divorce and needs family law attorney. I was happy with the financial decision in regards to child support and would have liked to say that we parted ways, but unfortunately it’s been an on going relationship due to my ex-husband’s actions. You pay for the services of a mechanic because you don’t know how to fix your car, but Mr. Bishop’s services go far beyond how well your car works, it pulls on your heart strings because your family and children are involved and that’s where a professional’s expertise helps you to see clearly and you can rely on his experience.

Through the course of these 9 years, I’ve seen him in “action” and I have always been thankful that it’s never been me that has to go up in court against him. My ex has had several attorneys, while I have had only one, Mr. Bishop. After walking away from a court hearing, I would always be satisfied that he was representing me.

Mr. Bishop educates you along the way with his experience. He tries to give you as much information so you aren’t blindsided when you go to court, family mediation, or even just how the whole court system works. I think this speaks volumes on what he stands for and what he provides.

I would refer Mr. Bishop to family or friends that need his services without hesitation.

Charlotte W.

Spring Valley, CA

0 friends

1 review

8/17/2009

Mr. Bishop was referred to my now current husband and I approximately 6 years ago. He handled both my husband’s divorce and mine. Steve was extremely knowledgeable and on top of things at all times. My husband’s divorce was not exactly a compatible one and as usual the “ex” wanted literally everything. Steve was able to handle the situation with such expertise with the result coming out very amicable. My “ex” tried to draw the situation out as long as possible simply to increase the costs as much as possible to me. Steve was able to handle this situation in such a professional and expert way that actually made my “ex” standback. My “ex” even told a friend of ours that he wished he had found Steve because he was so good that he was afraid of the outcome. As it turned out, Steve was able to expertly and professionally handle it so that the outcome came out very fair for everyone. In fact, after the divorce was final, my “ex” tried to play on what he thought was a “loop hole” in the divorce, sent the cops to my door, trying to get them to take me to jail and Steve was able to handle to whole thing over the phone. Nothing ever happened to me because of Steve and the “ex” didn’t get his “satisfaction”. Since then Steve has handled my Trust as well as other matters. When I have a situation and/or questions, Steve is ALWAYS the first Attorney I call. In fact, there have been times when I have called him to ask a question and he hasn’t charged me a thing. I appreciate that so much, I usually show my appreciation by sending him a little gift, like a Starbuck’s card or something. I do this because I realize that even though he is being kind, courteous and professional,I appreciate his wealth of knowledge and his help. Help like that should not go unnoticed. I would HIGHLY recommend Steve to anyone. Not only is Steve one of the best Attorneys I have ever run into, he also has an extremely effecient and confident staff. Whenever I call, Jody is the first person to show me respect and consideration as if I were his only client. Steve is the Best! Thank you, Steve, for all you have done!

Rui W.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

1 review

8/15/2009

Steve has been representing me for seven months now during my divorce. I found him through his website. At the first consultation meeting, he spent more than an hour educating me about the process of a divorce case without charging me anything. Steve is exactly the attorney I hoped I would find, and I feel he matches very well his self-description on his website. We have cooperated very well in these seven months.

A week after I hired Steve, I lost my job. With great knowledge and expertise he represented me in seeking alimony and I received even more than I expected to receive. He has always been very responsive to my needs and he was extremely helpful in advising me on what I should address and what I should ignore when I did rebuttal declaration as a respondent.

Steve and his fantastic staff team fantastic staff team reply to my e-mail or phone call very quickly, and send monthly bills with detailed information on time costs.

This is the first time in my life that I’ve hired a lawyer and I feel I’m luck to have Steve as my attorney. I would highly recommend Steve to my friends.

vicky h.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

3 review

8/11/2009

Steve Bishop has been representing me for about eight years. He is one of the most competent, diligent and ethical lawyers in this business. I retained Steve as my attorney in a very difficult divorce with complex child custody issues. Steve was and remains to be very knowledgeable on California law regarding family conflicts and divorce. I would recommend him to any of my friends and I will continue to use Steve as my attorney. He is absolutely wonderful. There is no doubt that choosing a lawyer for your divorce is difficult. But with Steve, it is a no brainer. Being a good lawyer requires many skills and steve HAS IT ALL!s.

David H.

Imperial Beach, CA

0 friends

1 review

8/21/2016

I retained Mr. Bishop about 8 years ago for some family law matter concerning California Childs Protection Services. Mr. Bishop protected MY rights! I find him to be a good Christian man who is willing to listen and give sound advise. I plan on keeping Mr. Bishop as my lawyer of record.

S M.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

2 review

7/8/2015

Mr. Bishop was referred to me by a very well respected colleague several years ago and I have since been fortunate (or unfortunate, depending upon your viewpoint, it is divorce after all) to retain Mr. Bishop to represent me in 2 divorces.

Though prepared and willing to get “tough” I wanted a amiable, direct, and quick process with a minimum of drama. He was perfect! Always available to address concerns and willing to provide clear and educated counsel when needed. My ex-husband’s were even a bit envious of the service I received as they didn’t feel similarly represented. Adding to the positive experience was his staff. Personable and experienced. A winning combination.

I have recommended Steve and his office to many friends and will continue to seek his counsel should it be needed in the future.

Ken F.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

6 review

7/7/2015

Steve was simply wonderful. He was gracious, informative and took care of everything. I was very impressed with his professionalism and integrity. I sincerely recommend Steve to anybody needed legal assistance in family law matters.

Steve L.

La Jolla, San Diego, CA

0 friends

3 review

7/6/2015

Mr. Bishop successfully represented me twice in the past 3 years. (twice because if you are familiar with family court, even if you win the first time, the other party can just start again if they want to keep trying to punish you). Not only is he an excellent attorney, with great knowledge and skills in the Family Law/Court arena, but he also understands how difficult the process your undergoing and helps reduce the stress with effective communication and compassion to your situation. He is extremely professional and qualified and I would 100% recommend him to a friend or family member if they were in need of Family Law services.

Darcy P.

La Mesa, CA

66 friends

85 review

1/8/2014

5 stars all day long…
I can tell you what …. All this emotional up and downs that come with going to court, preparing documents, not letting the effects show to your child, keeping up with the day to day has got to be one of the most emotionally and physically “suck the life right out of you”things I’ve done and I am not even close to being done. Not even… Alot of it rests in places that I get frustrated with like mainly why do we have too do this:? Aren’t the father and I grown up enough, care enough about our child, wise enough, mature enough, dedicated enough, smart enough, willing enough and I could just go on but it just drains me thinking that a conversation can not be had wherein we both leave egos and all other BS at the door and get in talk about it, decide something that is fair and just handle it and be on our way. Instead it is the opposite. Believe me i have tried and tried and in just hearing and seeing who this person is who shares a son with me I can’t fathom. I have a hard time dealing with this fact. The thing is I want answers that I am not getting for whatever reason and I tend to focus there but Mr. Bishop will stop me when I start meandering on a dead end side path. He is very direct and to the point, if I answer him with a response that doesn’t address his question he will ask me again. I think that this helps keep both of us focused on the end game. I don’t want my attorney to patronize me I need that brutal honesty so that i do not get on those emotional roller coaster. We have a bit of a ways to go but so far I am very pleased with my attorney. I am informed, updated, questions answered and even get to ask for some things that I would like to see happen and can’t wait to see if they do. I recommend Mr. Bishop especially if you want it straight and someone very well versed in custody and family disputes and ALL that that entails.

Bettie L.

Los Angeles, CA

0 friends

5 review

4/2/2012

Thank you so much for getting me my settlement! You really made a difference on the way you handled my case. I felt like I was in good hands. Thank you!

Randi B.

Lakewood, CA

0 friends

8 review

1/23/2012

Provided me with valuable information. Supported me and the decisions I made and the direction that I wanted to take.

In the end we had a favorable outcome that will work for everyone.

Elane H.

San Diego, CA

9 friends

2 review

11/9/2011

The Lord’s timing is always perfect, for all situations. I appreciate your diligence and efforts to streamline these legal issues . Have a blessed day. Thank you.
Sincerely, E.H

jodie Y.

Walnut Creek, CA

8 friends

31 review

11/8/2011

Mr. Bishop was very honest and open about the costs, how his billing system works, the entire court process, along with basic time lines and checkpoints that the judges require along the way. Mr. Bishop was also extremely accurate in assessing how the judge would rule, what he would dismiss, and what the final settlement would be. I felt Mr. Bishop was always professional, and very candid about what may possibly not go in my favor. I have referred two of my friends to him for representation in their divorce cases and would recommend him to anyone in need of a divorce attorney. In all, he is an outstanding Lawyer!

Stacy L.

Los Angeles, CA

33 friends

9 review

6/19/2012

receptionist was super RUDE. I will never do business with a place that have rude people working for them.

Sahra H.

San Diego, CA

0 friends

1 review

8/5/2016

I would like to start off by saying DO NOT retain this attorney, and please conduct your research before you make the same mistake as I did. I do not believe Mr. Bishop deserves even one star for the service that he has provided for my family and I. I retained Mr. Bishop on an emergency basis for an Ex parte hearing concerning a custody battle dealing with our son. I was put in an extremely vulnerable situation and did not conduct the proper research on him. I would like to start off by saying I was appalled when I not only read his reviews on YELP, but also the complaints that he has filed against him on the California Bar website. I have dealt with attorneys on numerous occasions throughout my life, and I have never come across such a dishonest man. Upon coming across all the reviews and complaints I decided to fire him as my attorney, and retain someone who is not only more knowledgeable but also someone who is honest. I gave him a 5,000 dollar retainer fee and he nearly took half off that not even 48 hours after I decided to to fire him. He was extremely bitter about the situation and did not handle it in a professional manner. I’m currently disputing charges with my credit company as well as contacting the State Bar of California and the San Diego County Bar Association to file a formal complaint against him. I have gathered all my evidence and have contacted an attorney regarding this matter. I will be taking legal actions against Mr. Bishop for the way he took advantage of not only myself but my family. I’m saddened to know that Mr. Bishop would take advantage of myself in such a vulnerable time. The one thing that bothered me the most about him is that he claims to be a devoted Christian man, when in reality he is the exact opposite.

Michele N.

Sacramento, CA

0 friends

12 review

7/22/2015

I would caution you against using Mr. Bishop for your divorce. I contacted him in April, 2015 to began the process of an uncontested divorce. I was not seeking alimony, only help with the legal fees for my 3-month marriage. He advised me to pursue a nullity of marriage based upon the alcohol addiction of my husband and the short duration of our marriage. I told Mr. Bishop that my husband would never admit to such a claim. Mr. Bishop disputes that I ever told him this and claims that he only said to me that my husband would have to admit to alcoholism. When I questioned his “scenario” expressing concern about the billable hours, Mr. Bishop responded that, if the “scenario” was not accepted then more time and expenses would occur. (To make a nullity case, the facts have to be provable and the condition permanent, like the person was already married or not of legal age. It is unheard of for a psychological disorder like addiction.) In addition to the advice to pursue this dubious course, I found that Mr. Bishop lacked attention to detail and did sloppy work as evidenced by the haphazard approach to completing my financial disclosures which he insisted we do immediately following the “free” consultation asking me to guess the details. He immediately proceeded to send me drafts of letters and emails. I naively proceeded to make corrections to the inaccuracies. One was a draft of the letter to my ex-spouse “offering the nullity angle” that repeatedly spelled my name both correctly and incorrectly throughout. All this flurry of activity occurred within five working days.
After receiving valuable advice from a friend who explained how rare a case that is based upon nullity of marriage is for most attorneys, I decided it would be best to choose a new attorney. My new attorney took one look at the pile of paperwork I had from Mr. Bishop’s office and said, “He wrote that many letters? He has used up all your initial deposit.” It is true, most of the $3,000 was swallowed up in an astonishingly short time. And no contact with the other side had even been made. Steven M. Bishop is focused on one task only: misleading clients with dubious legal advice, leading with a “scenario” that will ultimately fail as a method of creating more billable hours. I received his eleven page retainer designed to protect him after I decided to switch but would like to share that my new attorney’s is one page. I would not recommend Steven M. Bishop, do your homework, he has been sanctioned. The cluster of five star reviews posted on Yelp in one weeks time are suspect.

Michele M.

San Diego, CA

1 friends

7 review

9/4/2014

I hired Mr. Bishop to handle my divorce after searching for a Christian attorney on the internet. My experience with him was he was not trustworthy, responsive and he did not keep me informed of my case. He asked me to provide him with personal information which took me unnecessary hours that he claimed he needed only to charge me to then have him read it and never use. More than once he would have me come into his office to go over my case and then he would never go over my case and have me sit there while he worked on other things and made small talk. He also called me after business hours from a bible retreat and during the conversation told me that he couldn’t sleep because he couldn’t stop thinking of me. Had I of known what he was like before I hired him I would of not chosen him.

S B.

San Diego, CA

1 friends

7 review

10/5/2009

I came to Mr. Bishop with no assets and my ex and I wanted to settle out of court via agreement. As a military spouse I asked him if he handled these types of divorce cases, he adamantly confirmed that he had this expertise. Instead, I ended up versing him on my rights as a military spouse and I have a feeling that he never had any experience with military divorces.

My case was not complicated given the lack of assets and both my former spouse and I were in agreement concerning custody/visitation. Despite this, he kept telling me that I needed to continue the case to make the changes that I requested on the agreement as I found inaccuracies. Not to mention he didn’t address neither the military pension nor the education of our child in the agreement. When I asked about these items he would tell me, his client, that I was asking for too much!

We ended up going to fee arbitration as after I fired him as my attorney he had the nerve to tell me I owed him more money once I ended our business relationship.

Thankfully, I ended up with a professional California State Bar Certified Family Law Specialist who handled my case in 1/6th of the time it took Mr. Bishop.

I highly recommend anyone looking for a divorce attorney find one who is a CFLS.

UPDATE 10/05 – It appears that Mr. Bishop has taken the CFLS exams and is certified now. I would like my review to stand regardless as I did not have a good experience with him. Thanks for reading!

Liz S.

San Diego, CA

8 friends

14 review

7/7/2009

I highly discourage anybody from using Mr. Bishop as an attorney for their divorce case. My experience was horrible from the moment I paid my retainer fee.

The quality of the work was sub par and he clearly didn’t review work carefully that came across his desk from his paralegals (which he charges you $150/hr – they may get paid $25 if they are lucky). In fact, in the middle of my case, he fired his paralegal and blamed all of the mistakes that were made on her.

My name was misspelled on documents time after time and he told me “it wasn’t misspelled anywhere that counted”. He also said that it is common that mistakes are made on documents which is why clients need to review them carefully. At $350/hour I don’t think mistakes should be “common”. That’s why you are paying them.

You will pay for all those mistakes that are made as they have to continue updating your legal paperwork on top of copying fees, mailing fees, paralegal fees, attorney fees, and administrative fees. It’s quite a joke. I have no problem paying for superior service but when you are paying for high levels of service and you receive 1-800 DIVORCE service, there is something seriously wrong.

Finally, during the appointment where my ex and I signed our paperwork, Mr. Bishop made completely unprofessional remarks with sexual innuendos. They weren’t funny and were completely inappropriate.

After all that, he had the nerve to ask me to handle my estate planning business. No thanks. I have a brand new understanding of all those attorney jokes I’ve been hearing all these years.

Contact Us Today